Skip to Main Content

The Department of Planning creates liveable communities to enhance quality of life for all Western Australians – now and into the future.

As Western Australia’s lead land-use planning agency, the Department is responsible for planning the State’s cities and towns, transport networks, parks and recreation reserves, and a range of social and physical infrastructure well-ahead of their predicted need.

With more than 430 employees from a range of disciplines, the Department provides professional and technical expertise, administrative services, and corporate resources to advise the Western Australian Planning Commission and the Minister for Planning; and implements decisions relating to the planning and development of communities throughout the State.

The Department also provides advice and assistance to the public on:

  • land-use planning;
  • local government structure planning;
  • processing of statutory approvals for subdivision, strata title and development applications;
  • assessment of local planning schemes and scheme amendments;
  • management of reserved land held under the region schemes; and
  • region planning schemes.

The Department’s head office is in Perth, with regional offices located in Broome, Karratha, Geraldton, Mandurah, Bunbury and Albany.  A team is also located at Whiteman Park.

Useful Links

Our Minister

Rita Saffioti MLA

Hon Rita Saffioti BBus MLA

The Minister for Planning is responsible for administering Western Australia’s Planning and Development Act 2005 and ensuring a streamlined and responsive planning approvals process across the State. The Department of Planning provides professional and technical expertise and advice to assist the Minister in this role.