Skip to Main Content


Encompassing nearly a third of Western Australia’s geographic area, the Goldfields–Esperance region is the State’s largest. Famously rich in mineral wealth, it contains a diversity of social, economic and natural environments. Historically and presently, the growth of the region’s mining industry has heavily influenced infrastructure investment, population growth and the development of many of the region’s settlements. Unique natural landscapes, including deserts and scenic coastal areas, also underpin valuable tourism and agricultural sectors. 

The Goldfields–Esperance region comprises nine local governments: the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and the shires of Ravensthorpe, Esperance, Dundas, Coolgardie, Menzies, Leonora, Laverton and Ngaanyatjarraku.

The geographic extent of the region is shown on the map.

Goldfields-Esperance Regional Planning and Infrastructure Framework

The Goldfields-Esperance Regional Planning and Infrastructure Framework provides an overall strategic regional context for land-use planning within the Goldfields-Esperance region; and identifies a number of priority initiatives required to facilitate comprehensive regional planning in order to guide local planning processes.

Being the State’s largest region geographically, it contains a diversity of social, economic and natural environments. The Goldfields–Esperance region’s diverse economy, including its important mining, agricultural and tourism sectors, is expected to continue to drive its future growth.

Other regional planning publications

The Western Australian Planning Commision (WAPC) has published a range of plans, polices and other documents relevant to planning in the Goldfields-Esperance region, including:

Local Planning

Local governments are involved in planning for local communities by administering local planning strategies and schemes to ensure appropriate planning controls exist for land use and development. 

Local planning strategies establish the planning framework for each local government, and provide the strategic basis for local planning schemes. Local planning schemes contain planning controls such as designation of appropriate land uses, residential densities and development standards. 

Where they exist, local planning strategies and local planning schemes for Goldfields-Esperance local government areas are accessible via the embedded links.

Aboriginal Settlements

There are 15 Aboriginal settlements in the Goldfields-Esperance region, the largest being Warburton. Layout plans are a type of plan prepared by the Department of Planning specifically for Aboriginal settlements in WA. 

Layout plans have been prepared for a number of Aboriginal settlements in the Goldfields-Esperance region. These can be accessed from the Aboriginal communities (Layout Plans) webpage.

Central Regions Land Capacity Analysis

The Central Regions Land Capacity Analysis provides a broad overview of the land capacity of settlements in the Mid West, Gascoyne and Goldfields–Esperance regions with respect to forecast population growth. Based on the content of applicable local planning instruments, it examines existing and future land capacity in each local government.

Outputs from this project, which include land-use mapping and associated analysis, are available for each local government area via the above link.