Skip to Main Content

The Central sub-region covers 19 local government areas (Stirling, Bayswater, Bassendean, Cambridge, Vincent, Nedlands, Subiaco, Perth, Cottesloe, Claremont, Peppermint Grove, Mosman Park, Fremantle, East Fremantle, Melville, Canning, South Perth, Victoria Park and Belmont).

This area has the largest concentration of people and jobs, and will accommodate much of the future population growth.

The draft framework focuses on achieving higher infill and densities of residential and employment development within the existing built environment by making better use of established infrastructure.  

It advocates for greater use of activity centres, transport corridors and station precincts to support a diversity of higher-density accommodation that is close to jobs and amenities, while ensuring urban development does not encroach on existing industrial centres and the green network.

Key facts:

  • the population will increase from 782,947 (2011) to 1.2 million (2050)
  • the area will need approximately 780,000 (2050) jobs, up from 546,121 (2011)
  • more than 11,000 hectares of land will be conserved for green open space
  • 215,000 additional dwellings will be needed to reach the 2050 infill target.